The Public Policy Council prioritizes and manages issues that legislatively affect the building industry. We are also responsbile for ensuring adequate communication between BIA committees. The PPC reports to the BIA executive committee and board of directors.

Our Members

Appointed by the BIA President each year, our members are actively engaged at the local government level throughout San Diego County and have the acumen to influence important outcomes. Each member has policy-related knowledge, access and influence in markets throughout the San Diego region.

Board Members

Alex Plishner (Chairman)Lennar Homes
Bill OstremLennar Homes
Borre WinckelBIA
Brendan HayesFairfield Residential
Chris HallHallmark Communities
Dave GatzkeH.G. Fenton Company
Dave HammarHunsaker & Associates San Diego
David PooleBrookfield Residential (Ret.)
David StearnBeazer Homes
David WatsonDuane Morris
Eric ArmstrongFuscoe Engineering
Guy AsaroMeridian Development
Jeff O'ConnorHomeFed Corp.
Jack GallagherDahlin Group Architecture Planning
Jim SchmidChelsea Investment Corp.
Jim WhalenJ. Whalen Associates
John La RaiaH.G. Fenton Company
John PattersonGMP Landscape Architecture
Josh VasbinderThe Dinerstein Companies
Ken SauderWakeland Housing & Development
Marcela Escobar-EckAtlantis Group
Marco SessaSudberry Properties
Matthew MarinoAllen Matkins
Mike MahoneyRyan Companies
Paul BarnesShea Homes
Rita BrandinNewland Real Estate Group
Scott MolloyMolloy Planning & Entitlements
Tyler SandstromNew Pointe Communities
Matt Adams (Staff)