The Urban Council focuses on issues affecting the development and redevelopment of property within the urban areas of San Diego County. The range of issues we cover includes urban development guidelines, floor to area ratios, density limits, urban development fees, parking standards and more.

Our Members

Appointed by the BIA President each year, our members are cutting-edge industry professionals involved with redevelopment and building in established urban communities throughout the San Diego region.

We provide a professional forum for the exchange of ideas and information among members, advise members and the association on urban development industry issues, and serve as a liaison with the California Building Industry Association’s (CBIA) Urban Infill and Multi-Family Council.


Board Members

Amy AngarolaConAm
Brett MontgomeryAlliance Residential
Claudia EscalaCarrier Johnson + CULTURE
Dave GatzkeH.G. Fenton Company
Dave McCullough McCullough Landscape Architecture
David WatsonDuane Morris
Doug AustinAVRP Skyport
Eric ArmstrongFuscoe Engineering
Gilman BishopBishop & Company
Howard BlacksonAVRP Skyport
Ian GillSilvergate Development
John AllenStreamline Development
John PonderSheppard Mullin
Marco SessaSudberry Properties
Rich GustafsonCityMark Development
Sean Murphy Alliance Residential
Sherm HarmerUrban Housing Partners
Steven BossiAtlantis Group
Tim GabrielsonRick Engineering
Victor KrebsColliers International
Whitney HodgesChelsea Investment Corp.